Samsung Galaxy S5: How to Enable and Use Delay Message Sending in Android 4.4.2 Kitkat

Have you ever sent a wrong message? Or, have you ever sent a message to a wrong contact? Well, it could be worse if the message contains with the sensitive or important message, but you don't need to worry because the stock Messaging app in the Samsung Galaxy S5 has a feature called delay message sending. This feature will let the phone delays the sending of your message so that the message can be cancelled if needed. If this feature is enabled, the cancel button will be shown for a specified time after you tap the send button to send the message.


How to enable or disable the delay message sending feature?
Since this feature is not enabled by default thus you have to enable it manually by using the following steps:
  1. Open Messaging app.
  2. Tap or long press the Recent apps key to open up the additional options and then select Settings.
  3. Scroll down to find Delay message sending and then tap it.
  4. If the delay message sending is off, tap the ON/OFF switch to enable this option. When the switch is on the right side or shows green means the delay message sending is enabled.
  5. If necessary, you can adjust the delay time by tapping Set delay time and then select from the following options:
    • 3 seconds: select this option if you want the device waits for 3 seconds before sending messages after you tap the send button. This option is enabled by default.
    • 5 seconds: select this option if you want the device waits for 5 seconds before sending messages after you tap the send button.
    • 10 seconds: select this option if you want the device waits for 10 seconds before sending messages after you tap the send button.
    • 20 seconds: select this option if you want the device waits for 20 seconds before sending messages after you tap the send button.
    • 30 seconds: select this option if you want the device waits for 30 seconds before sending messages after you tap the send button.


How to use the delay message sending feature?
With this feature is enabled, when you have finished composing your message and then tap the send button, you'll see the cancel button in the left side of the message. If needed, you can cancel the sending of your message by tapping the cancel button . If you don't tap the cancel button and the selected delay time is over, the message will be sent automatically.


Actually, the delay message sending feature is not a new feature. You may have ever seen or used this feature in other third-party Messaging apps, but it's nice to find this feature in the stock Messaging app. So, how about you? Do you use this feature?

No comments:

Post a comment

Hi the insiders,
Thanks for coming and I hope you can get something useful here.
Before submitting your comment to ask about an issue, please make sure to provide information as much as possible (at least write your model number and Android version) and describe the problem clearly.
Also, since all comments will be moderated, all comments with irrelevant links(if any) or contain with offensive/harsh word will be deleted.
The last, if you have a question and can't find the relevant article, please feel free to reach me through the Contact us page. I'll be more than happy to reply the email and answer the question :)